Paleo Death by Chocolate Clusters

Valentine’s Day, for me, comes down to one thing; an opportunity to justify my obsession with chocolate. Oh, Love? Yes, well, my husband and I celebrate our love all year long. He treats me like his queen and I try to spoil him rotten. Is our relationship perfect? No way, we are 2 imperfect people striving for better every day. But that’s just it, we are moving forward together constantly.

 

Hugs today? Hugs every day. Love celebrated today? Tell your loved ones every day. Chocolate today in honor of your love? Definitely!!!!

I had never heard of Crimson Raisins before shopping at Sprouts (which we did not have where I come from). They are a beautiful red and triple sized raisin. See?

wp-1487091937614.jpg

And they are juicy and tasty, let me tell you. I have made many forms of Paleo “candy” in the past using nut butters, chocolate and nuts, but today I wanted to make my honey a surprise treat……or maybe these are for me….anyway, not to change the subject, but I am going to use this ganache for a Paleo hot chocolate, so be looking for that soon!

Recipe:

2 cups crimson raisins

1/2 cup almonds

1/2 cup pecans

1 cup walnuts

1 tsp oil

Sprinkle of salt

Mix all above ingredients except raisins and bake at 350° for 15 minutes mixing once in the middle. Allow to cool while you mix panache below.

Ganache:

4 tbsp butter melted

1/3 cup honey

1 tbsp black coffee

1/4 cup heavy cream

5 tbsp cocoa powder

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Dash Sea Salt

Extra cocoa powder for dusting

*Non-paleo option could include powdered sugar

Mix thoroughly and pour over cooled nuts and add raisins, mix thoroughly then spread on a piece of parchment paper dusted with cocoa powder on a sheet pan. Freeze for 1 hour, then break up into clusters, put into a large ziptop bag and add more cocoa powder for coating, shake and freeze until serving.

 

 

Leave a comment